Pettinger continues hill-climb dominance

Tejvan Pettinger, fourth, National Hill-Climb Championships 2010

Reigning national hill-climb champion Gunnar Gronlund (RST-Trigon) had to settle for second place in the Weaver Valley CC climb of the Cat and Fiddle in Cheshire, as prolific winner Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT) secured yet another convincing win.

Pettinger, who had won numerous climbs so far this season, including last weekend's Swindon RC two-stage, clocked 21-02 for the 6.5-mile climb, and was more than a minute ahead of Gronlund over one of the longest hill-climb courses in the land.

The Cat and Fiddle course was used for the National hill-climb championships ten years ago and the winner on that day, Mark Lovatt (Planet X), rode this year's event and finished fourth, while Ian Stott (Blackburn & District CTC) was third a decade ago and also this year too.

Veteran Karl Denton ( took a third consecutive victory when he won both Sunderland Clarion hill-climbs in County Durham.

Denton set a new course record of 3-46.8 for the mile-long course at Lady Park, Lamesley, and also took victory in the afternoon's climb of Hammer Square Bank, a new course which is a short but massively steep challenge. Denton clocked 1-52.8 to win by 4.2 seconds.

In Scotland, last year's winner David Griffiths (Glasgow Wheelers) won the Inverclyde Velo hill-climb at Lyle Hill, Battery Park in Gourock.

The 21-year-old clocked 4-01.57 to win by more than four seconds over the 1.1-mile course.

And in Wales, Glyndwr Griffiths (Bristol South CC) was the overall winner in Cardiff Byways triple hill-climb. He was fastest over all three climbs around Ogmore, although he won the final climb by just 0.1sec from runner-up Darran Carpenter (Cwmcarn Paragon CC).

In time trialling, there were some fast times set in the Eastern Counties CA 10 at Six Mile Bottom in Cambridgeshire, where good still conditions helped Adam French (Rapha Condor) to victory with 19-47.

Peter Balls (West Suffolk Wheelers) and Dave Kendall (Finsbury Park CC) clocked 19-49 and 19-58 respectively to complete the podium.

Just missing out on a sub 20-minute time was Robin Coomber (Cadence RT) who won the Yeovil CC 10 at Podimore in Somerset with 20-08.

In Surrey, Conall Yates (In Gear-Quickvit RT) won the Festival RC 10 at North Holmwood with 20-26, 12 seconds quicker than tea-mate Peter Tadros.

In Lancashire, John Morgan (Preston Wheelers) won the West Pennine RC) Autumn 10 with 20-39 over the L101 course at Garstang.

And in Shropshire, Will Rudgard (Univ of Birmingham CC) was quickest in the Wrekinsport CC 10 near Newport, where he won with 21-26, just six seconds quicker than runner-up David Kiernan (Rugby RCC).

Related links

Cycling Weekly's time trial news section

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1