Coryn Rivera seals Women's Tour overall victory as Lotta Lepistö wins the final stage

Overall victory a first stage race success for Sunweb rider

Coryn Rivera (Sunweb) celebrates her win at the 2018 OVO Energy Women's Tour (Photo by Justin Setterfield/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Justin Setterfield)

After what was an exciting and aggressive stage, Finnish champion Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo-Bigla) won the final stage of the Women’s Tour in Colwyn Bay on Sunday. Finishing the day in eighth place, Team Sunweb’s Coryn Rivera won the general classification; her first stage race win at Women’s WorldTour level.

Riding along the promenade, wind had made the final four kilometres hectic, which mini echelons forming and causing chaos as riders desperately avoided the wind. Entering the final 200m Lepistö followed Marianne Vos (Waowdeals), coming over the top of the Dutchwoman, who finished third, with Giorgia Bronzini (Cylance) taking her second second place of the week.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.