Cavendish climbs list of all-time Tour stage winners

Mark Cavendish wins, Tour de France 2010, stage 20

When Mark Cavendish won on the Champs-Elysèes on Sunday, he pulled level with the great Belgian Freddy Maertens in the all-time list of Tour de France stage winners.

The sprinter from the Isle of Man rode his first Tour in 2007, won his first stage in Châteauroux in 2008. Earlier in this Tour he levelled and then overtook his mentor, the German Erik Zabel, as well as Mario Cipollini and Robbie McEwen - the modern greats who each had 12 wins. Sunday's comfortable victory on the Champs Élysées in Paris was his 15th Tour stage win.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sports journalist Lionel Birnie has written professionally for Sunday Times, Procycling and of course Cycling Weekly. He is also an author, publisher, and co-founder of The Cycling Podcast. His first experience covering the Tour de France came in 1999, and he has presented The Cycling Podcast with Richard Moore and Daniel Friebe since 2013. He founded Peloton Publishing in 2010 and has ghostwritten and published the autobiography of Sean Kelly, as well as a number of other sports icons.