Former winner Edvald Boasson Hagen to race Tour of Britain

Former Team Sky riders Edvald Boasson Hagen and Serge Pauwels will ride for MTN-Qhubeka at the Aviva Tour of Britain

Edvald Boasson Hagen in action during Stage 4 of the 2015 Tirreno-Adriatico
(Image credit: Watson)

Edvald Boasson Hagen will return to the Aviva Tour of Britain for the first time since winning the race in 2009 as MTN-Qhubeka announced the first riders in their squad.

The Norwegian triumphed six years ago by winning four consecutive stages in the middle of the tour, which started in Scunthorpe before visiting the north east, Scotland, the South West and London.

Boasson Hagen was part of a successful MTN-Qhubeka team at the Tour de France, claiming five top-10 finishes himself in the three weeks, following it up with strong performances in the Tour of Denmark and the Arctic Race of Norway.

"I have good memories from winning stages in the Aviva Tour of Britain in the past, and look forward to come back to race there again. My form has been pretty good over the last few weeks, so I hope to get some good results in some of the stages", says Boasson Hagen.

>>> Tour of Britain 2015 route: stage by stage

Fellow former Team Sky rider Serge Pauwels will join Boasson Hagen on the start line in Anglesey on September 6 having also excelled at the Tour - finishing 13th overall.

"We are always pleased to welcome back former winners of the Aviva Tour of Britain so are delighted to see Edvald returning to the race,” said race director Mick Bennett.

"This is a very strong line-up from MTN-Qhubeka, showing a real sign of intent and their ambitions towards the race. In particular we are excited to welcome Daniel Teklehaimanot to make his debut at the Aviva Tour of Britain after his strong showing in the Tour de France.”

The Aviva Tour of Britain departs Anglesey for Wrexham before heading north through Cumbria into Scotland. From there the route winds down to the East Midlands and heads out into East Anglia and finishing in London.


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1