Results: June 2011

Major race wins from June.

By Cycle Sport staff

Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré (WT) France

Prologue: Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank

Stage one: Jurgen Van den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

Stage two: John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Stage three: Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Stage four: John Degenkolb (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Stage five: Christophe Kern (Fra) Europcar

Stage six: Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha

Stage seven: Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha

Overall result

1 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky

2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC

3 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Astana

Tour of Switzerland (WT)

Stage one: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek

Stage two: Mauricio Soler (Col) Movistar

Stage three: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage four: Thor Hushovd (Nor) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage five: Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil

Stage six: Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank

Stage seven: Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil

Stage eight: Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage nine: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek

Overall result

1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) RadioShack

2 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD

3 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank

Tour of Luxembourg (2.HC)

Prologue: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek

Stage one: Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha

Stage two: Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard-Trek

Stage three: Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky

Stage four: Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM

Overall winner: Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard-Trek

GP Kanton Aargau (1.1) Switzerland

Michael Albasini (Swi) Switzerland

TD Bank International Cycling Championship (1.HC) USA

Alex Rasmussen (Den) HTC-Highroad

Tour de Rijke (1.1) Netherlands
Theo Bos (Ned) Rabobank

Delta Tour Zeeland (2.1) Netherlands
Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank
Stage one:
Marcel Kittel (Ger) Skil-Shimano
Stage two:
Steven Caethoven (Bel) Verandas Willems
Overall winner:
Marcel Kittel (Ger) Skil-Shimano

Neuseenclassics (1.1) Germany

Andre Schulze (Ger) CCC Polsat

Ster ZLM Tour (2.1) Netherlands

Stage one: Patrick Gretsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad

Stage two: Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervélo

Stage three: Juan José Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank

Stage four: Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

Stage five: Leigh Howard (Aus) HTC-Highroad

Overall winner: Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

Route du Sud (2.1) France

Stage one: Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Veranda's Willems

Stage two: Anthony Charteau (Fra) Europcar

Stage three: Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Veranda's Willems

Stage four: Luis-Angel Mate (Spa) Cofidis

Overall winner: Vasili Kiryienka (Blr) Movistar

Tour of Slovenia (2.1)

Prologue: Robert Vrecer (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj

Stage one: Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

Stage two: Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Stage three: Andrea Guardini (Ita) Farnese Vini

Overall winner: Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-ISD

Giro della Toscana (1.1) Italy

Dan Martin (Ire) Garmin-Cervélo

Halle-Ingooigem (1.1) Belgium

Roy Curvers (Ned) Skil-Shimano

Major National Championships

Belgium: Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto)

Denmark: Nicki Sorensen (Saxo Bank)

France: Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step)

Germany: Robert Wagner (Leopard-Trek)

Great Britain: Bradley Wiggins (Sky)

Italy: Giovanni Visconti (Farnese Vini)

Spain: Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)

Switzerland: Fabian Cancellara (Leopard-Trek)

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Edward Pickering is a writer and journalist, editor of Pro Cycling and previous deputy editor of Cycle Sport. As well as contributing to Cycling Weekly, he has also written for the likes of the New York Times. His book, The Race Against Time, saw him shortlisted for Best New Writer at the British Sports Book Awards. A self-confessed 'fair weather cyclist', Pickering also enjoys running.