Sagan wins Tour of Poland in final sprint

Peter Sagan took the yellow jersey back off of the shoulders of Dan Martin after scoring vital time bonus in the final sprint today.

Marcel Kittel won the stage, his fourth of the race, but Sagan placed second, taking a six second bonus and overhauling Martin’s slender three second lead. Martin’s team mate Heinrich Haussler, who had nearly crashed with Sagan at the intermediate sprint, could only manage fourth.

Sagan had earned a two second time bonus at the intermediate sprint meaning he only needed to finish third on the stage to take the win.

Martin said before the stage that it would be difficult to defend the title he won last year. All but yesterday’s stages have ended in sprints, and yesterday’s hill wasn’t big enough for Martin to take enough time back from Sagan.

Britain’s Peter Kennaugh finished in the bunch to take fifth overall, with Stephen Cummings just behind in ninth.

As a result, they scored crucial WorldTour points, potentially boosting Great Britain’s team to eight riders at next month’s world championships.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Tour of Poland, stage 7: Krakow, 128km
1. Marcel Kittel (Skil-Shimano) in 2-50-00 

2. Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale)    
3. Leigh Howard (HTC-Highroad)    
4. Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Cervelo)   
5. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM)

General classification
1. Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) in 26-40-00

2. Daniel Martin (Garmin-Cervelo) at 6sec  
3. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM) at 7sec
4. Wout Poels (Vacansoleil-DCM) at 23sec  
5. Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky) at 25sec
9. Steve Cummings (Team Sky) at 28sec
61. Ian Stannard (Team Sky) at 17-36