Sky's 2013 Tour Down Under squad announced

Sutton and Sky chase, Tour Down Under 2012, stage 5

Edvald Boasson Hagen will head up Sky's squad for the season-opening Tour Down Under in Australia in January.

The Norwegian finished in seventh spot and took the points classification in last year's edition of the week-long stage race based in and around Adelaide. Sky's highest-placed rider in 2012 was Michael Rogers in fourth. He leaves Sky for Saxo-Tinkoff at the end of the year.

Boasson Hagen will be supported by three British riders - Geraint Thomas, Luke Rowe and national road race champion Ian Stannard. Australian riders Chris Sutton and Mathew Hayman, and Austrian Bernhard Eisel complete Sky's seven-man team. Kurt-Asle Arvesen will direct the squad. 

The 2013 Tour Down Under runs between January 22 and 27. It is preceded by a one-day warm-up race, the People's Choice Classic criterium, on January 20.

The 2012 edition of the Tour Down Under was won by Simon Gerrans, giving Australian team Orica-GreenEdge a successful WorldTour debut. Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) also made his mark on the race with three stage wins.

Team Sky: Tour Down Under 2013

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)

Bernhard Eisel (Austria)

Mathew Hayman (Australia)

Luke Rowe (Great Britain)

Ian Stannard (Great Britain)

Chris Sutton (Australia)

Geraint Thomas (Great Britain)

Related links

Sky confirms signing of Vasil Kiryienka

Michael Rogers leaves Sky for Saxo-Tinkoff

Edvald Boasson Hagen: Rider Profile

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1