Sutton wins Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne

Chris Sutton wins Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2011

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

After taking the lesser two places on the podium at yesterday's Het Nieuwsblad, Chris Sutton put Team Sky on the top step today with victory in Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.

The 26-year-old, who sat out yesterday's rain-soaked race, won a hectic bunch gallop ahead of Vuelta stage winner Yaauheni Hutarovich (FDJ), Andre Griepel (Omega-Pharma-Lotto) and Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Cervelo).

Sutton had been expertly delivered to the line by team mate Edvald Boasson Hagen after another strong showing by the rest of the squad during the course of the 193km race.

"The whole team put all their confidence in me and it paid off," said Sutton, who is the first Australian to have won the race.

"I said to the boys ‘I think I can win today'. I just had confidence in myself. I had that feeling which you don't get very often. Edvald said on the bus, ‘If we're all there, I'll lead out for you.'"

Unlike yesterday's race in the wet, today's follow-up over similar roads was a dry but windy affair.

After 44km, young Briton Andy Fenn (An Post-Sean Kelly) inadvertently found himself as the lone leader of the race when the four riders who'd just dropped him from the early break got disqualified for jumping a red light at a railway crossing.

Thankfully for Fenn, reinforcements arrived from the bunch in the form of Sander Armee (Topsport Vlaanderen) and Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ). They too left him behind on the cobbled climb of the Kruisberg.

As the duo ploughed ahead and Fenn retreated backwards, Sky's Ian Stannard and Juan Antonio Flecha went clear in a chase group with Tom Boonen (Quickstep) and Mirko Selvaggi (Vacansoleil) on the Oude Kwaremont climb. With two big favourites and a 2010 podium finisher in the group, they weren't given much leeway.

Although another chase group did make it up to the two leaders (including French Champion Thomas Voeckler and Sky's Matt Hayman), the race was more or less as one as it returned to the small town of Kuurne for two flat 13km finishing circuits.

Although several attacks followed -most notably from Lars Bak (HTC-Highroad) and then Tom Boonen (Quickstep) and Jimmy Engoulvent (Saur-Sojasun) in the final 5km- from this point on the race looked destined for a gallop.

"We had all the guys in the moves, so all my job was to save energy, sit there," recalled Sutton. With his team mates duly setting him up for victory, he added:   "I won today becasue of the job those boys did."


Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2011, 193km

1. Chris Sutton (Aus) Team Sky

2. Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Francaise des Jeux

3. Andre Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto

4. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Cervelo

5. Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles

6. Sebastien Chavanel (Fra) Europcar

7. Anthony Ravard (Fra) AG2R

8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky

9. Adrien Petit (Fra) Cofidis

10. Kristof Goddaert (Bel)  AG2R

Chris Sutton wins Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2011

Chris Sutton wins in Kuurne

Related links

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne photo gallery

Langeveld defies favourites to win Het Nieuwsblad

Het Nieuwsblad and Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2001: The Big Preview

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.