Van Summeren takes surprise Paris-Roubaix victory

2011 paris roubaix

Johan Van Summeren (Garmin-Cervélo) soloed to the biggest win of his career on Sunday at Paris-Roubaix, finishing ahead of Fabian Cancellara (Leopard Trek) and Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank).

In an unhinged edition of the race that ultimately played into the hands of the breakaways, giant Van Summeren joined the day's existing escape after the horrific Arenberg sector and broke clear of his last remaining companions on the Carrefour de l'Arbre.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.