UAE Tour

The 2020 UAE Tour was cancelled with two stages remaining (Photo by Justin Setterfield/Getty Images)

Where: United Arab Emirates
When: February 21 to 27, 2020
Rank: UCI WorldTour

The UAE Tour is the result of a merger between the Abu Dhabi Tour and the Dubai Tour, and it will continue to be a UCI WorldTour race into 2021.

The seven day race will kick off on Sunday February 21, finishing on Sunday February 27.

The inaugural edition in 2019 was won by Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) with Adam Yates (now Ineos-Grenadiers then Mitchelton-Scott) taking the 2020 race.

The Dubai Tour has always been an event populated predominantly by sprinters, and was won by Elia Viviani in 2018.

Comparatively, the Abu Dhabi Tour was more one for the climbers, thanks to the pivotal climb of the 10.8 kilometre Jebel Hafeet. In 2018, it was Alejandro Valverde who scooped up the win.

The 2020 edition’s last two stages were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic which saw the whole race quarantine in their hotels with several testing positive for the virus.

UAE Tour on live TV in 2021

It is expected that the UAE Tour 2020 will be broadcast on Eurosport and GCN Race Pass.

You’ll find the TV guide here when details become available.

UAE Tour route for 2021

The 2020 route will be announced later in January 2021.

Stage one, Sun February 21, 2021
Stage two, Mon February 22, 2021
Stage three, Tues February 23, 2021
Stage four, Weds February 24, 2021
Stage five, Thurs February 25, 2021
Stage six, Fri February 26, 2021
Stage seven, Sat February 27, 2021

UAE Tour recent winners

2019 Primož Roglič, Team Jumbo-Visma
2020 Adam Yates, Mitchelton-Scott

Adam Yates crowned the winner of the 2020 UAE Tour (Picture: Zuma Press/PA Images)

Abu Dhabi Tour recent winners

2015 Esteban Chaves, Orica–GreenEDGE
2016 Tanel Kangert, Astana
2017 Rui Costa, UAE Team Emirates
2018 Alejandro Valverde, Movistar Team

Dubai Tour recent winners

2014 Taylor Phinney, BMC Racing Team
2015 Mark Cavendish, Etixx–Quick-Step
2016 Marcel Kittel, Etixx–Quick-Step
2017 Marcel Kittel, Quick-Step Floors
2018 Elia Viviani, Quick-Step Floors

Key info: Start list