Cavendish wins Sports journalists' award

Mark Cavendish, 2011 World Champion

Mark Cavendish was presented with the 2011 Sports Journalists' Association's Sportsman of the Year award at the Grand Connaught Rooms, Covent Garden,

on Wednesday


Cavendish was voted as top sportsman of the year by the members of the Sports Journalists Association, beating golfer Rory McIlroy and athlete Mo Farah to scoop the accolade. All three sportsmen are also on the shortlist for the 2011 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, due to be decided by public vote on December 22.

Manxman Cavendish won two of the biggest prizes for sprinters this season: clinching the green jersey of points classification winner at the Tour de France and the rainbow jersey of road race world champion. In terms of wins, he is Britain's most successful professional cyclist in history.

Cavendish has signed for the British-based Sky squad for the 2012 season. He will be aiming to win the Olympic Games road race in London in July.

Swimmer Rebecca Adlington won the SJA's Sportswoman of the Year award.

Related links

Cavendish on BBC Sport's Personality shortlist

CW's all-time list of British pro winners

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.