GB longlist for UCI Road World Championships announced

Alex Dowsett chases. Men's road race, Road World Championships 2012

British Cycling today announced its longlist for this year's UCI Road World Championships, which take place in Florence, Italy at the end of September.

Some line-ups were confirmed - Sir Bradley Wiggins and Alex Dowsett will fill Britain's two slots for the men's time trial on September 25, for example - although an 11-rider longlist was named for the men's road race, with only eight places available for the showcase event on September 29.

Wiggins, Dowsett, likely GB leader Chris Froome and 2011 world champion Mark Cavendish all  appear on it, while the most notable absentees from that list were Sky's Peter Kennaugh and Garmin-Sharp's David Millar. Adam Blythe and Ben Swift were also not named.

Double junior road race champion Lucy Garner will make her debut in the women's elite road race alongside British road race champion Lizzie Armitstead and her predecessors Sharon Laws and Emma Pooley. Nikki Harris and Katie Colclough complete the line-up, while Pooley is the sole British entrant for the women's time trial.

In-form twin brothers Simon and Adam Yates are selected for the under-23 road race, while recent Giro della Lunigiana winner Tao Geoghegan Hart is one of four riders selected for the junior men's road race.

Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: "I think the selection of the elite teams speak for themselves, we've got Olympic medallists, Tour de France winners and former World Champions all in the mix and I think we could do well across the board there.

"The Yates brothers have put some really impressive rides in on the road this season so I'm looking forward to seeing what they can do, and we should be well represented in the Junior events as well."

Men's elite road race - 8 places qualified

Mark Cavendish

Steve Cummings

Alex Dowsett

Josh Edmondson

Andy Fenn

Chris Froome

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Geraint Thomas

Jon Tiernan Locke

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Men's elite time trial

Alex Dowsett

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Women's elite road race - 6 places qualified

Lizzie Armitstead

Katie Colclough

Nikki Harris

Lucy Garner

Sharon Laws

Emma Pooley

Women's elite time trial

Emma Pooley

U23 men's road race - 6 places qualified

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Tom Moses

Joe Perrett

Alex Peters

Alistair Slater

Adam Yates

Simon Yates

U23 men's time trial

Joe Perrett

Junior men's road race

Scott Davies

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Matt Gibson

James Knox

Junior men's time trial

Matt Gibson

Junior women's road race

Anna Christian

Bethany Hayward


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.