Julian Arredondo wins Tour de San Luis stage two

Julian Arredondo wins stage two of the Tour de San Luis

Julian Arredondo gave Trek Factory Racing its first victory, out-sprinting Peter Stetina (BMC) to win stage two of the 2014 Tour de San Luis on Tuesday.

Arredondo and Stetina had struck out of the bunch on the final climb to Mirador del Potrero, a 4.8-kilometre haul at an average of 6.7 per cent gradient. Stetina opened up his sprint first, but Arredondo came past him on the left to take a narrow victory.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) led home a small chase group to take third place.

An earlier five-man escape group had splintered and been swallowed up by a chasing group within the final 20km of the day's racing.

Briton Adam Yates continued to ride strongly on his debut for Orica-GreenEdge, finishing the stage in 18th place and moving up to 19th overall.

Stage one winner Phillip Gaimon (Garmin-Sharp) retained the overall race lead. He is ahead of Marc De Maar (UnitedHealthcare) in the GC by one minute and 47 seconds.

On Wednesday, the riders face a flatter 175.8km stage from Tilisarao to Juana Koslay. The UCI 2.1-ranked Tour de San Luis concludes on Sunday, January 26. 


Tour de San Luis 2014, stage two: La Punta to Mirador del Potrero, 170.6km

1. Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing in 4-13-21

2. Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing at same time

3. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 3 secs

4. Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC Racing at same time

5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r at 5 secs

6. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing

7. Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica-GreenEdge at same time

8. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale at 8 secs

9. Miguel Rubiano (Col) Colombia

10. Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environnement at same time


18. Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge at 31 secs

115. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 10-01

Overall classification after stage two

1. Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp in 8-20-24

2. Marc De Maar (Ned) UnitedHealthcare at 1-47

3. Christian Meier (Can) Orica-GreenEdge at 3-56

4. Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing at 4-16

5. Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing at 4-16

6. Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC Racing Team at 4-19

7. Nairo Quintana(Col) Movistar at 4-19

8. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing at 4-21

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r La Mondiale at 4-21

10. Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica-GreenEdge at 4-21


19. Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge at 4-47

112. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 14-17

Peter Stetina (right) is left disappointed after Julian Arredondo takes the stage two win

Stetina, Arredondo and Quintana

Related links

Tour de San Luis 2014 preview and coverage

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1