British World Championships team long-list announced: No Mark Cavendish

Sprinter Mark Cavendish not on British Cycling's long list for this year's UCI Road World Championships in Spain - Chris Froome, Lizzie Armitstead, Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas, David Millar all named

Bradley Wiggins, Elite men's time trial, Road World Championships 2013

The long list of riders from which Great Britain's team for the 2014 UCI Road World Championships will be selected has been announced by British Cycling.

Britain now has a healthy selection of WorldTour-level riders from which to assemble a men's road race team, and an equally impressive list for the elite women's discipline.

Bradley Wiggins, Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, David Millar and Alex Dowsett are among the 14 riders in the men's road race long list, from which the final eight will be selected. One name prominent by its absence is that of Isle of Man sprinter Mark Cavendish, the hilly course in Spain would not suit his talents. If Millar is selected, it will be his final chance to pull on a Great Britain jersey before retirement at the end of the season.

Newly-crowned Commonwealth champion and World Cup winner Lizzie Armitstead heads up the women's road race list, with double junior world champion Lucy Garner, Hannah Barnes and Sharon Laws also named. Six women will ride for GB during the event.

Two men will take part in the time trial from a pool of Alex Dowsett, Bradley Wiggins, Steve Cummings and Geraint Thomas. No women have been named for the women's elite time trial.

The under-23 and junior categories are also well represented, with a strong selection of riders for road races and time trials.

British coach Shane Sutton said: “I’m pleased with the long-list of riders we have selected for the UCI Road World Championships, and we’re fortunate to have a strong pool of riders from which to make our final selection. It’s good to see Annie Last and Alice Barnes from the Olympic mountain bike squad named on the long-list as they could both prove to be assets to Lizzie given the hilly nature of the course, and it shows how we’re developing riders on the programmes.”

The 2014 UCI Road World Championships take place in Ponferrada, Spain, from September 21-18.

Great Britain team
Men’s elite road race (eight places)

Steve Cummings

Alex Dowsett

Andy Fenn

Chris Froome

Pete Kennaugh

David Millar

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Geraint Thomas

Scott Thwaites

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Adam Yates

Simon Yates

Men’s elite time trial (two places)

Alex Dowsett

Steve Cummings

Geraint Thomas

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Women’s elite road race (six places)

Lizzie Armitstead

Alice Barnes

Hannah Barnes

Anna Christian

Lucy Coldwell

Lucy Garner

Nikki Harris

Annie Last

Sharon Laws

U23 men’s road race (five places)

Hugh Carthy

Scott Davies

Owain Doull

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Dan McLay

Tom Moses

Dan Pearson

Alex Peters

U23 men’s time trial

Scott Davies

Jon Dibben

Junior men’s road race

Gabriel Cullaigh

Nathan Draper

Matt Gibson

James Shaw

Steve Williams

Junior men’s time trial

Matt Gibson

Junior women’s road race

Megan Barker

Grace Garner

Beth Hayward

Mel Lowther

Junior women’s time trial

Grace Garner

Mel Lowther

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1