Gerrans, Hayman and Sutton to join Team Sky

sky logo, sky team, team sky, british pro team

Australian riders Simon Gerrans, Matt Hayman and Chris Sutton are all set to ride for the British-based Team Sky next year.

The three were named on Wednesday in a report filed by online newspaper The Australian.

Tour de France and Giro d'Italia 2009 stage winner Gerrans moves from Cervelo, Hayman from Rabobank and Sutton from Garmin-Slipstream.

Team Sky are backed by the satellite broadcaster owned by Rupert Murdoch's News Corporation, and managed by a team headed by Dave Brailsford and Scott Sunderland.

The squad is due to officially unveil the exact line-up with the next two weeks. The squad has applied for a ProTour licence, and is hoping to start racing at the Tour Down Under, Australia, in January 2010.

Related links

Team Sky: As it happens

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1