Thor Hushovd Cervelo Test Team

Thor Hushovd (Cervelo) won the opening time trial in the Volta a Catalunya stage race in Spain on Monday.

The Norwegian sprint star powered around the short 3.6 kilometre course in Lloret de Mar to take the win from second-placed Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne) by just one second. New Zealander Greg Henderson (Columbia-Highroad) came in third, two seconds adrift of Hushovd.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.