Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) won the 7.1-km prologue time trial and so is the first leader of the 2006 Tour de France.

The Norwegian sprinter beat George Hincapie (Discovery Channel) by just a few hundredths of a second, while Dave Zabriskie (CSC) was third at four seconds.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.