Jasper Stuyven takes sensational solo win at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne

The Belgian Trek-Segafredo rider broke from a leading group with 17km to go and held on to take the win

(Image credit: Watson)

Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafrdo) took a sensational solo victory at the 68th edition of Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne on Sunday after attacking a select leading group with 17km remaining.

The Belgian was left disappointed after a tactical miss-step at Saturday's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, but more than made up for it after he finished around 17 seconds ahead of the peloton to take the victory in a race which has traditionally lent itself to sprinters.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).