ONE Pro Cycling, new British UCI-ranked team, unveiled

Elite Road Series winner Yanto Barker headlines squad founded by England cricketer Matt Prior

Elite Road Series winner Yanto Barker will headline ONE Pro Cycling, a new British, UCI-ranked team set up for 2015 that launches today.

The squad has involvement from England cricketer (and keen cyclist) Matt Prior, as reported in the CW September 25 issue, and will feature British Cycling Olympic Development Coach Matt Winston as lead directeur sportif.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Barker is one of five former UK Youth riders among the squad’s 12-man roster: Jon Mould and Josh Hunt join from NFTO, Chris Opie switches from Rapha Condor-JLT and Marcin Bialoblocki arrives from Giordana Racing.

Former GB Academy rider Jonny Bellis and six-day specialist Marc Hester are also included in ONE’s inaugural line-up.

Steve Benton, a former Human Performance Coach for Formula 1 and World Rally drivers, is onboard as the team’s Performance Coach. With experience at UK Youth, IG-Sigma Sport and NFTO, Becky Frewing is ONE’s team manager.

“Cycling is a huge passion of mine and I am delighted to be setting up ONE Pro Cycling with a team of experienced and dedicated people. It will be a big challenge but one I’m thoroughly looking forward to,” said Prior.

“The group of riders we have is an exceptional one – not only because of the team’s ability on the bike but also the spirit we have off it.

“We have a team that could potentially do something very special and that excites me.”

ONE will ride the new Cérvelo S5 bike, equipped with Shimano Di2 groupset.

While their UCI licence is subject to confirmation, they are expected to join Madison-Genesis, NFTO, Raleigh-GAC and JLT-Condor (formerly Rapha) in the Continental ranks. ONE have no links to the development team that Bradley Wiggins is setting up with Sky.

ONE Pro Cycling: 2015 line-up
George Atkins (joins from Raleigh)
Yanto Barker (joins from Raleigh)
Tom Baylis (joins from Haribo-Beacon)
Jonny Bellis (joins from Christina Watches)
Marcin Bialoblocki (Pol, joins from Giordana RT)
George Harper (joins from Giordana RT)
Marc Hester (Den, joins from FireFigthers Upsala CK)
Josh Hunt (joins from NFTO)
Jon Mould (joins from NFTO)
Chris Opie (joins from Rapha Condor-JLT)
Pete Williams (joins from Haribo-Beacon)
Sam Williams (joins from NFTO)