Orica-GreenEdge announce Giro lineup in a very Orica-GreenEdge way

Australian squad Orica-GreenEdge reveals its Giro d'Italia lineup in video format

(Image credit: Watson)

The video department at Orica-GreenEdge has been busy once more, creating this video to reveal the nine riders that will make up their Giro d'Italia team.

Orica have one of the best social media teams in the pro peloton, with regular viral videos emerging from the Australian squad, from musical tributes to filming some riders 'getting hypnotised'.

This time, however, they've toned down the jovial antics and simply put together a video montage for each of their chosen Giro riders, with the squad featuring Simon Gerrans and Michael Matthews.

Matthews took the maglia rosa leader's jersey after stage two of the Giro in Northern Ireland last year, winning stage six to Montecassino in pink a few days later.

Gerrans, meanwhile, is set to ride only his second Giro d'Italia as he continues his comeback from a string of early season injuries.

Among the squad's other members, Orica looks to be setting its stall out for the opening team time trial, with the likes of Luke Durbridge and Brett Lancaster among the many faces returning from last year's squad.

Orica-GreenEdge Giro d'Italia squad

Michael Matthews, Sam Bewley, Esteban Chaves, Simon Clarke, Luke Durbridge, Simon Gerrans, Michael Hepburn, Brett Lancaster, Pieter Weening

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.