Smithfield Nocturne

As we reported last month, Ed Clancy and Geraint Thomas are the latest in a long line of elite riders to join in the action at this year's Smithfield Nocturne.

Clancy and Thomas join names such as Dean Downing, Rob Hayles, Chris Newton and Tony Gibb in the floodlit, night-time criterium based around the historic London market of Smithfield on Saturday, June 7 (support events start from 5pm).

"It will be great to return to London as it?s not often we get the opportunity to race there,? Thomas said. "The Nocturne is obviously a different prospect to the Tour de France but I?m really looking forward to it. I?ve just come off the back of the Giro so I?m up for mixing it up in a crit race."

"I was pleased with my form in the Giro, especially in the final time trial," Thomas continued. "It bodes well for my preparation towards the Olympics. I?ve had some rest this week and have a free schedule so it was a perfect opportunity to race against some of my GB team mates and enjoy some action on the streets of London."

Full race start list and details below.

Smithfield Nocturne Elite Criterium

Date: 7th June 2008

Location: Smithfield Market, Central London

Start time: approx 8.30pm

Rider Category: Elite, 1st, 2nd

1.Geraint ThomasBarloworld

2.Ed ClancyLandbouwkrediet - Colnago

3.Dale ApplebyRapha Condor

4.Graham BriggsRapha Condor

5.Rhys LloydRapha Condor

6.Rob PartridgeRapha Condor

7.Simon HoltRapha Condor

8.Dean DowningRapha Condor

9.Kristian HouseRapha Condor

10Chris NewtonRapha Condor

11Rob HaylesTeam Halfords

12Tom SouthamTeam Halfords

13Tony GibbPlowman Cravan

14Simon GaywoodPlowman Cravan

15James MillardPlowman Cravan

16Tom BarrasPlowman Cravan

17Evan OliphantPlowman Cravan

18Neil ColemanPlowman Cravan

19Simon RichardsonPlowman Cravan

20Alex HighamPlowman Cravan

21Darren BarclayArctic Premier Racing Team

22Alister TullettArctic Premier Racing Team

23Jody CrawforthArctic Premier Racing Team

24Matt HolmesArctic Premier Racing Team

25David LawArctic Premier Racing Team

26Steve NunnArctic Premier Racing Team

27Jos Van VeldovenRollapaluza

28Paul MillTeam Edwardes

29Jon MozleyPearl Izumi-planet X-High 5

30Matt TalbotGlendene CC

31Liam HolohanPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

32Jersosen JanssenPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

33Stephen AdamsPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

34Matthew JonesPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

35Raphael DeinhartPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

36Andy TinsleyPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5


38Marcin BialoblockiSports Beans-Willer

39Marcus PerrySports Beans-Willier

40Andrew WilliamsCwmcarn Paragon CC

41Adam DugglebyShorter Rochford RT

42Grant BaytonSports Beans-Willier

43Martin FreemanTeam Corley Cycles

44Karl FreemanTeam Corley Cycles

45Paul DelahuntyLondon Dynamo

46Martin GarrattLondon Dynamo

47Ben WhiteBike n Run London

48Warrick SpenceCyclefit-Serotta

49Daniel RuddCitiHub

50Andrew FennDolan RT

51Mark ChristianTeam Isle of Man

52George AtkinsPearl Izumi-Planet X-High 5

53Dan DuguidSigma Sport RT

54Wouter SybrandySigma Sport RT

55Alex WiseSigma Sport RT

National Elite Circuit Race SeriesPoints will be awarded for the first 20 places in each single day circuit race as follows:

60, 52, 45, 40, 35, 31, 27, 23, 20, 17, 15, 13, 11, 9, 7, 6, 5, 3, 2, 1.

Points will be awarded for the first four across the line on two pre-designated sprint laps in each closed road circuit race round: 5, 3, 2, 1.

The overall competition will be won by the rider who gains the highest number of points gained (a maximum of 10 races to count - the number of counting rides available will be reduced if the number of participating events reduces).

The highest placed under-23 rider in the final overall standings will be declared the U23 Circuit Race Series Champion.


Thomas and Clancy to ride Nocturne

Nocturne expands for 2008

Battle of Brits at 2008 Smithfield Nocturne

Bike events top Visit London awards


Smithfield Nocturne official website:

Nocturne Series:

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1