It's the end of an era for T-Mobile, as their sponsor announces its decision to quit. After two Tour de France wins, an Ullrich-centric strategy and many comings and goings, the team that recently re-emerged as one of our strongest hopes in the fight to race clean, is no more.

Here are the highs and lows of the past 16 years...

1991 Telekom

Squads first win by Ad Wijnands at the Etoile de Besseges

1992 Telekom

Walter Godefroot arrives as manager. A host of German pros join, including Uwe Ampler, Jens Heppner, Andreas Kappes and Remig Stumpf.

1993 Telekom

Rolf Aldag, Jacques Hanegraaf, Brian Holm, Olaf Ludwig and Erik Zabel are signed. Zabel has his first big win at a stage of Tirreno? Adriatico

1994 Telekom

Rudy Pevenage joins the squad. Two big victories in Germany Bolts at Rund um Koln and Ludwig at Rund um den Henniger Turm. Zabel?s win at Paris-Tours gives the team their big break. Axel Merckx joins for the year. Jan Ullrich debuts as a stagiaire.

1995 Deutsche Telekom

Bolts and Ullrich do a road race and time trial double at the German Championships.

Bolts win is third successive road race title for team. The team makes its Tour debut and Zabel takes two satges.

1996 Deutsche Telekom

Bjarne Riis joins the squad and wins the Tour. Zabel wins the first of six successive Gren jerseys. Bolts takes the Clasica San Sebastian.

1997 Deutsche Telekom

Giovanni Lombardi arrives to help Zabel?s lead-out train. Zabel wins the Via Roma, San Remo. Ullrich wins the Tour and HEW-Cyclassics Cup to become a German superstar.

1998 Deutsche Telekom

Zabel?s Milan-San Remo victory is the only real result this year.

1999 Deutsche Telekom

Ullrich misses the Tour through injury, but recovers to win the Vuelta and the World Time Trial in Treviso, Italy. Jens Heppner wins the Tour of Germany.

2000 Deutsche Telekom

Alexandre Vinokourov joins from Casino. Zabel wins two classics: Milan-San Remo and Amstel Gold. Ullrich is second to Armstrong in the Tour but wins the Olympic road Race. Andreas Kloden wins Paris-Nice and the Tour of the Basque country.

2001 Deutsche Telekom

Zabel hires Marios Cipollini?s leadout man Gian-Matteo Fagnini.

2002 Deutsche Telekom

Ullrich misses the Tour, is suspended for using recreational drugsand leaves the team. A win for Vinokourov at Paris-Nice and Zabel?s points at the Vuelta are the only things to cheer.

2003 Deutsche Telekom

A host of new arrivals: Mario Aerts, Santiag Botero, Cadel Evans, Daniele Nardello and Giro champion Paolo Savoldelli come in, but Vinokourov has the best year, winning Paris-Nice, Amstel Gold, and the Tour of Switzerland.

2004 T-Mobile

Ullrich is back and wins the Tour of Switzerland. Steffen Wesemann wins the Tour of Flanders.

2005 T-Mobile

Olaf Ludwig arrives as manager. Vinokourov wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege to rescue a poor spring then announces he?s leaving for Liberty Seguros.

2006 T-Mobile

Jan Ullrich is sacked on the eve of the Tour de France as it emerges he was involved with Dr Fuentes - the man at the centre of the Madrid blood doping ring. The sponsor ends it's relationship with Olaf Ludwig and brings in Bob Stapleton to run the team.

2007 T-Mobile

A new look T-Mobile is presented to the press at their January training camp. The team leads the fight against doping with many internal controls and riders speaking out against doping - making some enemies in the peloton. In May, Rolf Aldag and Erik Zabel make high profile confessions of EPO use, as does CSC boss Bjarne Riis. Partick Sinkewitz then tests positive for testosterone in the summer.


T-Mobile pulls sponsorship with immediate effect

Wiggins stunned by T-Mobile decision

High Road Sports vows to carry on

Giant stick with Team High Road

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1