Tour Down Under teams confirm rosters

stage 4 tour down under 2009

Lance Armstrong, Andre Greipel and Robbie McEwen will all be lining up to contest the Tour Down Under (January 19-24), the opening race of the 2010 ProTour season.

Several of the teams taking part in the stage race based around Adelaide, South Australia, have now confirmed their line-ups for the event. All 18 ProTour teams, plus the national UniSA Australia squad will take part.

The TdU is the first outing for Armstrong's new Team RadioShack, and the seven-times Tour de France winner heads up a strong seven-man team that also includes Tour de France stalwart Yaroslav Popovych and Belgian sprinter Gert Steegmans.

Columbia-HTC brings along 2008 TdU winner Andre Greipel. The German sprinter took the first stage win in the 2009 event, opening his account for an incredibly successful season which saw him end the year with the second highest number of pro wins behind Columbia team-mate Mark Cavendish.

Australian sprint ace Robbie McEwen makes his competitive return after a 2009 season blighted by injury. McEwen holds the current record for number of stage wins at the Tour Down Under, and will be in the hunt to add to his tally of 12.

World Champion Cadel Evans is also set to bring a strong BMC Racing team to the event, although the squad has yet to announce its confirmed line-up. Team Sky will also make its much-anticipated racing debut in Adelaide.

The six-stage Tour Down Under starts on January 19, and concludes on January 24. The race is precluded by the circuit-based Cancer Council Classic on January 17.

Australian sprinter Allan Davis won the 2009 Tour Down Under for the Quick Step team.


Team RadioShack

Lance Armstrong (USA)

Daryl Impey (RSA)

Jason McCartney (USA)

Yaroslav Popovych (UKR)

Sebastien Rosseler (BEL)

Gert Steegmans (BEL)

Tomas Vaitkus (LTU)


Robbie McEwen (AUS)

Alexander Pliuschin (MDA

Pavel Brutt (RUS)

Denis Galimzyanov (RUS)

Joan Horrach (SPA)

Sergey Klimov (RUS)

Stijn Vandenbergh (BEL)

Team Columbia-HTC

Andre Greipel (GER)

Michael Rogers (AUS)

Bernhard Eisel (AUT)

Mark Renshaw (AUS)

Matthew Goss (AUS)

Marcel Sieberg (GER)

Hayden Roulston (NZ)

Francaise des Jeux

Timothy Gudsell (NZL)

Yauheni Hutarovich (BLR)

Thibaut Pinot (FRA)

Anthony Roux (FRA)

Jeremy Roy (FRA)

Wesley Sulzberger (AUS)

Arthur Vichot (FRA)


Graeme Brown (AUS)

Stef Clement (NED)

Rick Flens (NED)

Tom Leezer (NED)

Koos Moerenhout (NED)

Jos van Emden (NED)

Pieter Weening (NED)


Robert Forster (GER)

Markus Fothen (GER)

Artur Gajek (GER)

Thomas Rohregger (GER)

Wim Stroetinga (NED)

Luke Roberts (AUS)

Bjorn Schroder (GER)

Ag2r-La Mondiale

Martin Elmiger (SUI)

Cyril Dessel (FRA)

Blel Kadri (FRA)

Yuriy Krivtsov (UKR)

Rene Mandri (EST)

Anthony Ravard (FRA)

Ludovic Turpin (FRA)

Related links

Davis wins 2009 Tour Down Under

Follow us on Twitter>>

IPC CW subs offer banner

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1