Tuft wins Denmark TT as Fuglsang moves into lead

Svein Tuft wins, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions) won Saturday's stage five time trial in the Tour of Denmark, adding to his team's overall win in the Tour of Poland with Daniel Martin on the same day.

Tuft narrowly beat Richie Porte (Saxo Bank) in the 19.4km test against the clock on Saturday afternoon in Middelfart - in the morning the riders had navigated a short road stage, won by HTC-Columbia's Mark Renshaw.

Tour of Denmark 2008 and 2009 champion Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank) placed third on the stage, taking over the race lead - the Dane now looks set to win the race for the third conecutive year. Tuft's TT win ups him to second overall, 27 seconds adrift of Fuglsang.

One notable performance was that of young New Zealand RadioShack stagiaire Jesse Sergent, who put in a solid ride to finish eighth on the stage.

The 2010 Tour of Denmark concludes on Sunday with a 185km stage from Høng to Rudersdal.


Tour of Denmark 2010, stage five TT: Middelfart, 19.4km

1. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Transitions in 23-20

2. Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank at same time

3. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Saxo Bank at 4 secs

4. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil at 15 secs

5. Hayden Roulston (NZl) HTC-Columbia at 38 secs

Overall classification after stage five

1. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Saxo Bank in 15-00-19

2. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Transitions at 27 secs

3. Matthew Busche (USA) Radioshack at 1-35

4. Martin Mortensen (Den) Vacansoleil at 1-38

5. Rasmus Guldhammer (Den) HTC-Columbia at 1-45

Jesse Sergent, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Jesse Sergent

Matthew Busche, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Matthew Busche

Jakob Fuglsang, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Jakob Fuglsang

Svein Tuft wins, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Stage winner Svein Tuft

Jakob Fuglsang, Tour of Denmark 2010, stage 5 TT

Jakob Figlsang looks set to win his third Tour of Denmark

Related links

Stage four: Cavendish's lead-out man Renshaw takes win

Stage three: Saxo Bank take over

Stage two: Van Stayen wins and takes lead

Stage one: Goss wins Tour of Denmark opener

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.