Vincenzo Nibali, Arnaud Demare and Andre Greipel grab national titles

National championships round-up from around the world: who won what, and where

Vincenzo Nibali wins the Italian Road Race championships 2014

(Image credit: Graham Watson)

The Tour de France will award a yellow jersey in Yorkshire on Saturday, but last weekend cyclists raced for their home colours. Vincenzo Nibali won in Italy, André Greipel in Germany and Arnaud Démare in France – riders who will all wear national jerseys in Yorkshire this coming weekend.

Italy - Vincenzo Nibali (Astana)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Gregor Brown

Gregor Brown is an experienced cycling journalist, based in Florence, Italy. He has covered races all over the world for over a decade - following the Giro, Tour de France, and every major race since 2006. His love of cycling began with freestyle and BMX, before the 1998 Tour de France led him to a deep appreciation of the road racing season.