Marcel Kittel denies Mark Cavendish to win Scheldeprijs

Marcel Kittel and Mark Cavendish, Scheldeprijs 2013

Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano) won the Scheldeprijs for a second year running in Schoten, Belgium, this year shooting ahead of Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-QuickStep). The German now feels as though he has cemented his place as a top sprinter.

"I want to be the best sprinter in the world," Kittel said in a press conference. "I think today was a good step in that direction."

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.