Matt Bottrill sets new record for Nev Crane Memorial time trial

British time trial round-up (July 19-20): News and results from around the UK

Matt Bottrill, British time trial national championships 2014
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Prolific time trial winner Matt Bottrill ( continued his preparations for the National 25-mile Championships in two weeks when he broke the course record in the Nev Crane Memorial in Lincolnshire on Sunday.

The Leicester-based postman delivered a time of 49-53, beating his own course record for the C25/35 by 11 seconds and taking the win by 43 seconds from Andy Jackson (Team Swift) with Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles) taking third spot, almost two minutes further back.

There were also some fast 25-mile times in the VTTA (Yorkshire) event in North Yorkshire on the V236 Topcliffe to South Kilvington course.

Team Swift’s Joel Wainman taking the win with 49-35, 1-36 quicker than Rich Dean (Barnsley RC) in second, while Wainman’s team-mate Blaine Metcalf took third with 51-45. And Seacroft Wheelers’ Emma Coldwell was fastest woman with 57-46.

Over in Wales, Ben Anstie (Cadence RT) won the Ross on Wye 25 on the Usk to Monmouth course. He clocked 50-10 to win by 13 seconds from Paul Gamlin (Northover VT), with Matt Burden (Severn RC) third, over a minute further back.

North Devon Wheelers were celebrating a one-two in their own 25-mile time trial near Culmleigh on Sunday. Phiul Morrish took the win with 58-19, while Dave Rouse was second with 58-38.

Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) was fastest female with 1-01-14, a course record and over three minutes quicker than her nearest rival.

Team Swift enjoyed another victory in Bedfordshire, with Pete Lawrence winning the Verulam CC 25 at Tempsford in 50-45. Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon) took second with 52-27, while Chris Pearce (Cambridge CC) was third 954-42) and Emily Robertson (CC Luton) was best female with 55-49.

In Cheshire, Simon Bridge (Manchester Wheelers) won the Warrington Road Club 25 in 52-22 for the J2/9 Goostrey course, which was 58sec quicker than triathlete Alex Royle (Army CU).

Steve Hilton took third for the promoting club with 54-38, and Joanne Blakeley (GB Cycles) was quickest of the women with 59-21.

In Northamptonshire, A5 Rangers’ Enrico Cacciatori won the Northants & Dist CA 10 at Middleton with 22-01, seven seconds quicker than David Langlands (Fenland Clarion) in second. Third went to Steve Wood (Peterborough CC) with 22-20, while Sarah Short (Bonito Squadra Corse) won the women’s prize with exactly 25 minutes.

And in the Team Cambridge 10, prolific winner and national record holder Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) clocked 19-23 to win at Cambourne, with Jon Surtees (Team Swift) and Phil Melling (Team Corley Cycles) equal second with 20-57 each.

And Gary Record (West Kent RC) won the Eastern Counties CA 10 at Bulphan in Essex, clocking 21-07 to beat Murat Ozdenya (Team Vision Racing) by 13 seconds. Team Vision Racing were best team with Mark Steers and John Iszatt making up the trio, while Julia Freeman (Easterley RC) was fastest female with 23-22.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.