Monmouthshire to host 2014 British road national championships

kristian house, house, national champs, 2009, rapha condor

The British National Road Championships will visit Wales for the third time in eight years as Monmouthshire has been selected to host the 2014 event.

The championships will take place in and around Abergavenny from 26-29 June with the time trials taking place on the Thursday 26 and the road races on the Sunday 29.

The last time the championships were held there, in 2009, Nicole Cooke won her 10th road title and Kristian House of Rapha-Condor fended off more established ProTour names to claim the men's jersey.

Current champions Joanna Rowsell and Alex Dowsett (time trial) and Lizzie Armitstead and Mark Cavendish (road) will all be looking to defend their titles.

Jonny Clay, Cycle Sport and Membership Director for British Cycling, said of the decision: "Following on from the success of the 2013 championships, where we delivered an event witnessed by 35,000 people on the streets of Glasgow, we had significant interest from towns in hosting the championships for next year.

"2014 should be a fitting prelude to the Tour de France Grand Départ in the UK."

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1