Top field for inaugural Women's Tour

11 of the top 13 UCI-ranked teams confirmed for five-day British race.

Ellen Van Dijk escape, London 2012 Olympics, women's road race
(Image credit: watson)

Eleven of the top 13 women's teams will compete in this May's inaugural Women's Tour, race organiser SweetSpot confirmed today.

The participation of reigning Olympic and world road race champion Marianne Vos had previously been confirmed, but this announcement will further bolster the field strength of the five-day event.

Boels-Dolmans, Lotto-Belisol, Estadio de Mexico Faren and UnitedHealthcare - the teams of Britons Lizzie Armitstead, Emma Trott, Emma Pooley, Lucy Martin, Sharon Laws and Hannah Barnes - are all competing. The Wiggle-Honda squad of Laura Trott, Dani King, Jo Rowsell and Elinor Barker will also be in action.

Former double world junior road race champion Lucy Garner will race for a young GB team in the event, as her trade squad Giant-Shimano are not taking part.

Domestic team Matrix-Vulpine, managed by Stef Wyman and led by his wife Helen, also earned an invite to the event.

"We are thrilled to be able to bring such a world-class field of teams to ride in the first ever Women's Tour”, said event director Guy Elliott.

"The race has attracted a wonderful field of elite riders from all over the world, which will be one of the strongest fields ever assembled for an elite women's international race, and a route which will feature some of the most beautiful roads, villages, towns and countryside in Great Britain.”

This year's race begins in Oundle on May 7.

Women’s Tour 2014: The teams
Rabo Liv (Ned)

Orica-AIS (Aus)

Boels-Dolmans (Ned)

Specialized-Lululemon (Ned)

Wiggle-Honda (GBr)

Hitec Products (Nor)

Rusvelo (Rus)*

Astana Bepink (Ita)

Estadio de Mexico Faren (Mex)

Lotto-Belisol (Bel)

Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)

Bizkaia-Durango (Esp)*

UnitedHealthcare (USA)

Matrix-Vulpine (GBr)

Netherlands national team

Great Britain national team

*Pending Visa confirmation.

Women's Tour 2014: The stages

Stage one, Wednesday May 7

Oundle to Northampton

Stage two, Thursday May 8

Hinckley to Bedford

Stage three, Friday May 9

Felixstowe to Clacton-on-Sea

Stage four, Saturday May 10

Cheshunt to Welwyn Garden City

Stage five, Sunday May 11

Harwich to Bury St. Edmunds

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.