Mark Cavendish takes sixth in scratch race to start omnium campaign

Lasse Norman Hansen of Denmark takes victory in the first of three races on the opening evening of the men's omnium

(Image credit: Watson)

Mark Cavendish (Great Britain) got his Rio 2016 Olympic Games campaign started with his first outing in the omnium, where he took sixth in the opening scratch race.

The British rider was active throughout, starting an early but futile breakaway attempt. The decisive move came with 19 laps to go when Bobby Lea (USA) and Jasper de Buyst (Belgium) went away and started working well together.

Roger Kluge (Germany) and Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark) chased and briefly made the breakaway a group of four, before going away from the original leaders. The German-Danish duo lapped the field and sat in until the end.

Thomas Boudat (France) and Glenn O'Shea (Australia) were left in no man's land, almost a lap up on the field but unable to get on the back of the pack.

Cavendish contested the sprint, taking second from the bunch, but due to the four riders ahead he took sixth from the opening event. Fernando Gaviria (Colombia) pipped the Manxman to the line for fifth.

Two more events remain on the first day of the omnium, with the individual pursuit followed by the elimination race.

More from the Olympics

Elia Viviani wins omnium elimination race as mistake costs Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish produces outstanding ride to place second in omnium individual pursuit

Becky James and Katy Marchant progress to 1/8 final of track sprint

Jason Kenny beats Callum Skinner to take Olympic sprint title

All you need to know about the omnium


Men’s omnium: 15km scratch race

1. Lasse Norman Hansen (DEN)

2. Roger Kluge (GER)

3. Thomas Boudat (FRA)

4. Glenn O’Shea (AUS)

5. Fernando Gaviria (COL)

6. Mark Cavendish (GBR)

7. Elia Viviani (ITA)

8. Gael Suter (SUI)

9. Park Sanghoon (KOR)

10. Dylan Kennett (NZL)

11. Tim Veldt (NED)

12. Artyom Zakharov (KAZ)

13. Kazushige Kuboki (JPN)

14. Ignacio Prado (MEX)

15. Gideoni Monteiro (BRA)

16. Leung Chun Wing (HKG)

17. Bobby Lea (USA)

18. Jasper de Buyst (BEL)

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Jack Elton-Walters hails from the Isle of Wight, and would be quick to tell anyone that it's his favourite place to ride. He has covered a varied range of topics for Cycling Weekly, producing articles focusing on tech, professional racing and cycling culture. He moved on to work for Cyclist Magazine in 2017 where he stayed for four years until going freelance. He now returns to Cycling Weekly from time-to-time to cover racing, review cycling gear and write longer features for print and online. He is not responsible for misspelled titles on box outs, and he lost the argument about using UK spellings