One Pro Cycling dominate podium at Tro-Bro Léon (video)

Martin Mortensen and Peter Williams place first and second for One Pro Cycling in French one-day race, Tro-Bro Léon

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Martin Mortensen and Peter Williams of British squad One Pro Cycling placed first and second in the Tro-Bro Léon in France on Sunday.

Dane Mortensen had put in two attacks in the final 20km of the race to finish just ahead of a chasing group, which was led home by British rider Williams.

Frenchman Florian Vachon (Fortuneo-Vital Concept) placed third to complete the podium of the 33rd edition of the event.

>>> One Pro Cycling animate Nokere Koerse race in Belgium

Tro-Bro Léon features 32km of rough farm tracks among its 203.3km route starting and finishing in Lannilis in Brittany.

“I said to the boys this morning to go out, race hard and close to the front the whole way through and enjoy the event,” said One Pro Cycling sports director Matt Winston.

“It’s not often you get to race like this with farm tracks, gravel roads… just head out and have some fun. That is what they certainly did and it was a massively proud moment for me to see the team with a 1-2.”

The result is One Pro Cycling’s biggest since the team made its debut in the UCI Professional Continental ranks at the start of the 2016 season. The squad was created in 2015 by former England cricketer Matt Prior.

>>> One Pro Cycling granted UCI Pro Continental licence for 2016

Mortensen joined One Pro Cycling at the start of the year, having previously ridden at WorldTour level with Leopard Trek and Vacansoleil-DCM.

Tro-Bro Léon 2016 result

1. Martin Mortensen (Den) One Pro Cycling in 4-50-36
2. Peter Williams (GBr) One Pro Cycling
3. Florian Vachon (Fra) Fortuneo-Vital Concept
4. Laurent Pichon (Fra) FDJ
5. Johan Le Bon (Fra) FDJ at same time
6. Yohann Gene (Fra) Direct Energie at 4 secs
7. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Wallonie-Bruxelles at 17 secs
8. Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
9. Mihkel Raim (Est) Cycling Academy Team at same time
10. Sebastien Minard (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 20 secs