Fans will have a say in who wins the Tour de France 'Super Combativity' prize in 2016

The fans will have a say in who is awarded the 'super combativity' prize at the Tour de France for the most aggressive rider over the 21 stages

Maarten Wijnants combativity award, Tour de France 2010 stage 1
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Following in the footsteps of races such as the Tour de Yorkshire, the Tour de France will offer the public the chance to vote for the most combative rider in the race this year.

Fans will be able to vote on social media for the rider who they think was the most attacking for the duration of the Tour, with their voice added to a five-man jury.

On the jury will be former riders Greg Le Mond and Laurent Jalabert, two journalists and race director Thierry Gouvenou. Should the voting end in a tie, Gouvenou will have the deciding say.


At the inaugural Tour de Yorkshire in 2015, organisers offered fans a shortlist of riders for who they could vote on each stage as the most attacking rider.

At the Tour de France, each stage sees an award handed to the rider who lit up the day with the most attacks or aggressive riding in a classification sponsored by Antargaz.

Ag2r La Mondiale's Romain Bardet won the Super Combativity prize in 2015 after his attack down the Glandon on stage 18 and his aggressive riding in the final week of the race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1