Team Sky announce Tour de France squad

Team Sky have annouced five British riders in their 2015 Tour de France squad, including Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas and Luke Rowe

Chris Froome wins Stage 8 and the overall 2015 Dauphine Libere.

(Image credit: Watson)

Team Sky have annouced five British riders in their 2015 Tour de France squad, with Irishman Nicolas Roche named in the squad having not been on the 'leaked' longlist released last week.

Chris Froome is among the big four contenders for the overall title, alongside defending champion Vincenzo Nibali, Giro d'Italia winner Alberto Contador and Nairo Quintana.

The 2013 Tour winner will have a great deal of help in the mountains, with plenty on domestiques on hand to guide him up the climbs.

>>> The latest Tour de France videos

Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard, Peter Kennaugh and Luke Rowe are the other Brits in the squad, with Stannard and Kennaugh coming off a strong National Championships in Lincoln.

Leopold Konig and Richie Porte are set to start their second Grand Tour of the season, having competed in the Giro d'Italia in May.

Roche was left off the 11-man list accidentally published on the Team Sky website last week, but makes it into the Tour squad to support Froome over the course of the three weeks.

Team Sky squad for the Tour de France

Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Richie Porte, Peter Kennaugh, Ian Stannard, Luke Rowe, Leopold Konig, Nicolas Roche, Wout Poels

The Cycling Weekly panel discuss the contenders for the 2015 Tour de France

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1