Peter Kennaugh defends national title as he beats Mark Cavendish to line in Lincoln

The Manx pair ascended Michaelgate ahead of everyone else in the British national road race, with Kennaugh coming out on top

Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky) successfully defended his British national road title in Lincoln on Sunday, racing ahead of Mark Cavendish (Etixx - Quick-Step) on the final climb of Michaelgate to the finish line.

The 26-year-old is only the third man in history to take back-to-back British national road race titles, with Roger Hammond last completing the feat in 2003/04.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).