Storms, Pink and Sennema win in Waller Pain Hill-Climb

Waller Pain Hill-Climb 2013

John Storms (Kingston Wheelers) and Daniel Pink (Bigfoot CC) were crowned joint winners of the 2013 Waller Pain Hill-Climb in Caterham, Surrey, on Sunday.

Defending champion Storms and newcomer Pink both tackled the steep town-centre ascent of Waller Lane with a time of one minute and 20 seconds.

Joint accolades continued with Barny Willard (In Gear-Quickvit-Trainsharp) and Ewan Tuohy (Catford Equipe Banks) posting the second-fastest time of 1-26. Tim Stevens (34 Nomads) put in the third fastest time of 1-28.

Fastest woman was Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers) with a time of one minute and 53 seconds, with Susan Freeburn (WyndyMilla) in second and Lisa Collins (Cruystal Palace Tri) in third. Sennema broke the women's record for the event set last year (1-59) by Gem Atkinson (Rapha Condor).

Freddy Wright (VC Londres) beat defending under-16 champion and team-mate Oliver Cliff to win the male Future Stars category with 1-30. Freya Greatwood won the under-16 female category.

In the 'fun' categories, Belinda Wigmore and James Grummit won the respective male and female awards.

A record number of riders took part in the event this year, which was run in aid of the Save the Herne Hill Velodrome appeal.

Special mention must be made to the effort made by 2010 winner Hal Bransby, who rode up the course pulling his two daughters in a trailer. He posted a time of 4-13.

Link to full results>>


Waller Pain Hill-Climb 2013: Waller Lane, Caterham, Surrey

=1. John Storms (Kingston Wheelers) in 1-20

=1. Daniel Pink (Bigfoot CC) in 1-20

=2. Barny Willard (In Gear-Quickvit-Trainsharp) in 1-26

=2. Ewan Tuohy (Catford Equipe Banks) in 1-26

3. Tim Stevens (34 Nomads) in 1-28

4. Ed Francis (Kingston Wheelers) in 1-29

=5. Nigel Wynn (Cycling Weekly) in 1-30

=5. Jon Hughes (I-Ride) in 1-30

=5. Joe Cromwell (Kingston Wheelers) in 1-30

6. Simon Richardson (Norwood Paragon) in 1-31

7. Iain Moss (Unattached) in 1-36

8. Gareth Parr (Unattached) in 1-39

Senior women

1. Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers) in 1-53

2. Susan Freeburn (WyndyMilla) in 1-55

3. Lisa Collins (Crystal Palace Tri) in 2-31

Youth men

1. Freddy Wright (VC Londres) in 1-30

Youth women

1. Freya Greatwood (Unattached) in 6-01

Fun women

1. Belinda Wigmore in 2-52

Fun men

1. James Grummit in 2-27

Waller Lane

John Storms

Daniel Pink

Maryka Sennema

Freddy Wright

Belinda Wigmore

Tim Stevens

John Storms (left), organiser Scott Georgiades (centre) and Daniel Pink (right)

Fish Man chased by...

... a fisherman

A young hill-climber

2010 winner Hal Bransby returned to take his family up the hill

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.