Valverde wins stage three of Paris-Nice

Alejandro Valverde wins, Paris-Nice 2012, stage three

Paris-Nice 2012 stage three photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) sprinted to victory in the third stage of Paris-Nice, finishing narrowly ahead of Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge) by less than half a wheel.

Gerrans almost pipped Valverde to the line in what was a near carbon copy of stage five of this year's Tour Down Under.

Yet the Australian left himself too much work to do and was unable to overhaul the Spanish rider. Gianni Meersman (Lotto-Belisol) came in third.

Britain's Bradley Wiggins (Sky) retained his yellow jersey after finishing safely in the bunch on the uphill finish to Le Lac de Vassiviere.

On a cold and grey day in central France, the day's early break took off and soon built up a lead of 4 minutes 30 seconds with 40km gone.

Roy Curvers (1t4i), Michael Morkov (Saxo Bank) and Jimmy Engoulvent (Saur-Sojasun) stayed away until the peloton, lead by Team Sky for the majority of the day, caught up with all but the Saur rider with just 11km left to race.

Engoulvent was soon swamped at the foot of the day's final climb with 6km to go under a high tempo from green jersey Tom Boonen and the Omega Pharma Quickstep squad.

Wiggins stayed out of trouble as Movistar wound up the tempo for their rider. Valverde timed his finish perfectly, holding off Gerrans by the slightest of margins to claim his fourth win of the season.


Paris-Nice 2012, stage three: Vierzon to Le Lac de Vassiviere 194km

1. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar in 4-36-19

2. Simon Gerrans (Aus) GreenEdge

3. Gianni Meersman (Bel) Lotto-Belisol

4. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Rabobank

5. Xavier Florencio (Spa) Katusha

6. Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale

7. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Radioshack-Nissan-Trek

8. Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

9. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana

10. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM all same time


20. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky at same time

Overall classification after stage three

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky in 9-09-51

2. Levi Leipheimer (USA) Omega Pharma-Quickstep at 6 secs

3. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC at 11 secs

4. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 14 secs

5. Maxime Monfort (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan at 18 secs

6. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 20 secs

7. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM at 22 secs

8. Jose Rojas (Spa) Movistar at 29 secs

9. Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha at 33 secs

10. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Astana at 36 secs

Jimmy Engoulvent leads the break

Sky chase the escape group

Photo finish: Simon Gerrans (left) and Alejandro Valverde on the line

Bradley Wiggins with Raymond Poulidor

Paris-Nice 2012: Latest news

Andy Schleck out of Paris-Nice with stomach problems

Andy Schleck off pace in Paris-Nice time trial

Paris-Nice 2012: Who will win?

Froome to miss Paris-Nice due to illness

Wiggins for Paris-Nice; Cavendish for Tirreno-Adriatico

Paris-Nice 2012: Race preview and information

Paris-Nice 2012: The Big Preview

Paris-Nice 2012: Stage reports

Stage two: Wiggins rides into lead

Stage one: Wiggins second to Larsson in opening time trial

Paris-Nice 2012: Photo galleries

Stage three gallery by Graham Watson

Stage two gallery by Graham Watson

Stage one gallery by Graham Watson


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1