Backstedt guest of honour at Champions Night in Nottingham

CTT Champions' Night 2010

Paris-Roubaix winner Magnus Backstedt of Sweden is the guest of honour at the 67th Champions Night this Saturday (January 8) - at Cycling Time Trials annual awards presentation at the East Midlands Conference Centre in Nottingham.

Top award winners of the year include  Olympic champion and British Tour de France hope Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) and World TT champion and British road race champion Emma Pooley (Cervelo). Both retained their British TT championship titles for the second consecutive year.

2010 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Julia Shaw (Utag Yamaha), will carry off the most trophies. Besides winning the four individual titles at 10, 25, 50 and 100 miles, she also won the BBAR.

Also with his hands full will be Northern Ireland's multi-TT champion Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT), who once again lifted the 10, 25, 50 and 100 titles. Shaw's team-mate Julian Jenkinson won the men's BBAR.

National secretary Heaton has retired after two decades in the job.

Phil Heaton has retired as national secretary of Cycling Time Trials. He was in the post for 20 years and awarded the Gold Badge of Honour for his work.

"I'm going to relax and enjoy myself," Heaton said. At 56 it's early retirement but timely. Heaton has been confined to a wheelchair for 32 years since being hit by a car

Unable to ride himself, he was determined to be at the heart of the sport, becoming national secretary for the Road Time Trials council, now CTT.

Retirement means he'll have more time for his other interests. "I'll do lots more caravanning. It will be nice to go to see the Tour de France. The past 30 years, basically, I've had to juggle with school holidays and board meetings.

"I've had some good times. And I aim to stay in touch, keep time keeping, attending club dinners and remain as an advisor to disabled sport."

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Keith Bingham joined the Cycling Weekly team in the summer of 1971, and retired in 2011. During his time, he covered numerous Tours de France, Milk Races and everything in-between. He was well known for his long-running 'Bikewatch' column, and played a pivotal role in fighting for the future of once at-threat cycling venues such as Hog Hill and Herne Hill Velodrome.