Benat Intxausti wins Tour of Beijing as Luka Mezgec takes final stage

Benat Intxausti tops podium. Dan Martin second, David Lopez third, Tour of Beijing 2013, stage five

Benat Intxausti (Movistar) won the 2013 Tour of Beijing overall on Tuesday, finishing safely in the peloton to retain his position at the top of the general classification after the previous day's stage win.

Slovenian sprinter Luka Mezgec (Argos-Shimano) took the bunch sprint at the end of the short and sharp final stage in Beijing city, getting the best of double stage winner Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ) and Moreno Hofland (Belkin). Bouhanni ends the race with the points classification win.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.