Britain fields strong team for MTB Worlds

Cycling Weekly news logo

Defending downhill World Champion Tracy Moseley and 2009 downhill World Champion Steve Peat spearhead Great Britain's strong team for the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Champéry, Switzerland, from August 31 to September 4 2011.

In addition to contesting the women's downhill event, Moseley has also been selected to take part in the relay discipline.

Peat and 2010 World Cup champion Gee Atherton will be looking to win the elite men's downhill event.

Liam Killeen and Oli Beckingsale represent Britain in the elite men's cross-country race.

"We have a massive pool of mountain bike talent in Great Britain and this is reflected in the size of the squad we have selected for the World Championships," commented GB performance manager Shane Sutton.

"The Downhill guys perform consistently well year-on-year and it's exciting to see the young talent, like Danny Hart, up there on the podium alongside the best elite riders in the World.

"From an Olympic perspective, I believe we're gaining momentum as we approach 2012 and we've seen some promising performances from all the riders. Annie Last in particular has done the country proud by riding up an age category this year in the World Cup series and recently winning the silver medal at the U23 Euros.

"For the World Championships, she must ride within her U23 category and it would be great to see her back on the World Champs podium like she was last year."

The UCI Mountain Bike World Championships consists of cross-country, downhill, four-cross, relay and trials disciplines.

UCI Mountain Bike World Championships 2011


Elite Men

Liam Killeen

Oli Beckingsale

U23 Men

David Fletcher

Kenta Gallagher

U23 Women

Annie Last

Junior Men

Grant Ferguson

Matt Sumpton

Junior Women

Bethany Crumpton

Katy Winton


Elite Men

Gee Atherton

Marc Beaumont

Josh Bryceland

Ruaridh Cunningham

Brendan Fairclough

Danny Hart

Steve Peat

Elite Women

Rachel Atherton

Fionn Griffiths

Tracy Moseley

Junior Men

Lewis Buchanan

Mark Scott

Junior Women

Manon Carpenter


Elite Men

Scott Beaumont

Will Evans

Scott Roberts

Elite Women

Fionn Griffiths


Grant Ferguson

David Fletcher

Kenta Gallagher

Tracy Moseley


Andrei Burton

James Hyland

David Kerr

Sam Oliver

Ben Savage

Joe Seddon

Related links

Moseley crowns strong week for Brits at MTB Worlds (2010)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1