Fenn wins final stage of Tour de Bretagne

Cycling Weekly news logo

Brit Andrew Fenn won the final stage of the Tour de Bretagne Cycliste on Sunday, beating Frenchman Morgan Kneisky (Roubiax Lille Metropole) and Dutchman Jetse Bol (Rabobank) in a sprint finish.

Fenn, 20, was part of a Great Britain development academy squad that also included Luke Rowe, Mark Christian, Jonathan Mould, Samuel Harrison and Erick Rowsell.

British squad Endura also fielded a team, with Estonian Rene Mandri finishing second overall for the team behind overall winner Peter Kusztor (Atlas Personal) of Hungary. Mandri won stage two from a four-man break.

Fenn finished 14th overall, one minute and 35 seconds behind Kusztor.

The seven-stage UCI 2.2-ranked Tour de Bretagne Cycliste took place in the Brittany peninsula in north-west France from April 25 to May 1.


Tour de Bretagne Cycliste 2011

Stage one

1. Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank

2. Andrew Fenn (GB) Great Britain

3. Alexandre Blain (Fra) Endura

Stage two

1. Rene Mandri (Est) Endura

2. Evaldas Siskvicius (Ltu) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille

3. Peter Kusztor (Hun) Atlas Personal

Stage three

1. Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank

2. Kevin Cherrault (Fra) Team U Nantes Atlantique

3. Mathieu Halleguen (Fra) Bretagne-Schuller

Stage four

1. Paul Poux (Fra) Saur-Sojasun

2. Arnaud Demare (Fra) CC Nogent Sur Oise

3. Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole

Stage five

1. Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93

2. Sebastien Harbonnier (Fra) L'Armee de Terre

3. Eric Berthou (Fra) Bretagne-Schuller

Stage six

1. Anthony Vignes (Fra) Brest Iroise Cyclisme 2000

2. Andrey Solomennikov (Rus) Itera-Katusha

3. Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole

Stage seven

1. Andrew Fenn (GB) Great Britain

2. Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubiax Lille Metropole

3. Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank

Final overall classification

1. Peter Kusztor (Hun) Atlas Personal in 6-33-29

2. Rene Mandri (Est) Endura at 4 secs

3. Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille at 38 secs

4. Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank at 1-06

5. Anthony Vignes (Fra) Brest Iroise Cyclisme 2000 at 1-12

6. Pirmin Lang (Swi) Atlas Personal at 1-20

7. Gilles Devillers (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles-Credit Agricole at 1-22

8. Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur-Sojasun at 1-25

9. Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole at 1-26

10. Mathieu Halleguen (Fra) Bretagne-Schuller at 1-27


14. Andrew Fenn (GB) Great Britain at 1-35

24. Mark Christian (GB) Great Britain at 1-52

29. Rob Partridge (GB) Endura at 2-03

39. Luke Rowe (GB) Great Britain at 4-09

81. Daniel McLay (GB) Omega Pharma-Lotto at 49-48

90. James Moss (GB) Endura at 1-01-56

91. Jonathan Mould (GB) Great Britain at 1-08-38

Related links

Swift wins final Romandie stage as Evans wins overall

McNally and Fenn place top five in Belgium

Academy man Fenn signs for An Post

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.