Alejandro Valverde wins Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana

Alejandro Valverde scores his first victory of the 2015 season on the third day of the Challenge Mallorca. Photos by Andy Jones

Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana Podium

Last year's WorldTour champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) picked up his first victory of the 2015 season, winning the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana on Saturday.

Valverde took a solo win on the third day of the Challenge Mallorca, going one better than the previous day when he was beaten by Steve Cummings (MTN-Qhubeka).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.