Alexander Kristoff wins Tour of Oman stage three

Norwegian sprinter Alexander Kristoff lives up to billing as stage favourite by taking win on third day of 2016 Tour of Oman - Edvald Boasson Hagen retains overall lead - Photos by Yuzuru Sunada

Katusha's Alexander Kristoff wins stage three of the 2016 Tour of Oman. Photo: Yuzuru Sunada

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) powered to win the bunch sprint at the end of stage three of the 2016 Tour of Oman on Thursday.

Widely tipped as the favourite to take the victory on the stage, 2015 Tour of Flanders winner Kristoff lived up to expectation by taking the stage ahead of Moreno Hofland (LottoNL-Jumbo), and Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.