Cavendish, Froome and Armitstead named on Britain's World Champs long list

British Cycling announces the long list of riders from which the final Great Britain team will be selected for the 2015 World Championships in Richmond, USA

5 July 2015
102nd Tour de France
Stage 02 : Utrecht - Zelande
CAVENDISH Mark (GBR) Etixx - Quickstep
Photo : Yuzuru SUNADA

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Tour de France winner Chris Froome, 2011 World Champion Mark Cavendish and 2014 Women's World Cup winner Lizzie Armitstead are among the names on the long list announced by British Cycling for the 2015 UCI Road World Championships in Richmond, USA, over September 19-27.

Froome and Cavendish are among the 13 elite male riders named that will fill the nine road race and two time trial places that Britain has qualified for the 2015 Worlds. It's a strong list of riders that rivals anything any other nation could offer, not least due to the presence of Tour winner Froome - who is currently contesting the Vuelta a España in Spain.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.