Cavendish wins final stage in California as Sagan takes thrilling title

Peter Sagan lunges to the line to take third place, and with it the overall title at the Tour of California, as Mark Cavendish wins in Los Angeles

Mark Cavendish wins stage eight of the Tour of California (Watson/Gibson)

(Image credit: Watson)

Peter Sagan may not have been able to keep up with Mark Cavendish as the Manxman won his fourth stage of the Tour of California, but the Tinkoff-Saxo rider did just enough on the line to grab the bonus seconds that would secure him the title.

Cavendish, supported by incumbent yellow jersey holder Julian Alaphilippe, and Wouter Wippert took first and second and MTN-Qhubeka's Tyler Farrar looked set to snatch the vital third place.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.