Malcolm Elliott Newport Nocturne 2007 winner

Click here to see a gallery of photos from the Newport Nocturne taken by Andy Jones

SHEFFIELD veteran Malcolm Elliott (Pinarello RT) won the Shropshire Star Newport Nocturne with a brave solo attack with 30 minutes of the race remaining.

In front of hundreds of enthusiastic spectators, 46-year-old Elliott stayed clear of the chasing field to cross the line almost a minute ahead of his nearest rivals, while the majority of the bunch were another ten seconds off the pace.

Despite the field containing such big names as British Tour de France stars David Millar, Geraint Thomas and Mark Cavendish, Elliott used his experience to take the honours, while Tony Gibb (Plowman Craven RT) was second and last year?s winner Chris Newton ( third.

Elliott had escaped alongside Gibb and Newton after 15 minutes, but after opening up a small gap Newton and Gibb appeared to hesitate about chasing, and one lap later Elliott - the former points winner of the Tour of Spain - had gone.

Meanwhile, in the Past Masters race Sid Barras also scored a solo victory, crossing the line 14 seconds ahead of Steve Jones, while Phil Wilkins was third, another three seconds off the pace.

For a full report from the Newport Nocturne, check out this week?s Cycling Weekly.

Shropshire Star Newport Nocturne.-

1 Malcolm Elliott (Pinarello RT)

2 Tony Gibb (Plowman Craven RT) at 56sec

3 Chris Newton (

4 Gordon McCauley (Plowman Craven RT)

5 Peter Kennaugh (Pinarello RT) all same time

6 Russell Downing (Health Net-Maxxis) at 1-06

Click here to see a gallery of photos from the Newport Nocturne taken by Andy Jones

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1