Pierrick Fedrigo wins stage 14 Tour de France 2006

France?s Pierrick Fedrigo (Bouygues Telecom) won the Grand Prix Ouest-France ProTour race in Brittany on Monday, beating Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) and David Lopez Garcia (Caisse d'Epargne) in a sprint finish.

The three riders emerged from a fierce day of racing on the last lap. Lopez Garcia tried to avoid the sprint but the classy Fedrigo - who won a stage in the 2006 Tour de France and the French national title in 2005 - chased him down and then came past Ballan in the sprint.

It was his third win of the year and gave Bouygues Telecom their second consecutive win in the French classic after Thomas Voeckler won in 2007.

Following the race the ProTour standings remained unchanged with Spain?s Alejandro Valverde still leading Damiano Cunego (Lampre). Because the ProTour does not include races organised by ASO, RCS Sport in Italy or the Vuelta, the troubled season-long competition ends on Wednesday with the final stage of the Eneco Tour.

1 Perrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 5 hrs 42mins 44secs

2 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre

3 David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 3secs

4 Allan Davis (Aus) Mitsubishi-Jartazi at 13secs

5 Jose Jaoquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne

6 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Francaise des Jeux

7 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Silence Lotto

8 Romain Feillu (Fra) Agritubel

9 Geoffry Lequatre (Fra) Agritubel

10 Manuele Mori (Ita) Scott-American Beef all same time.


Westphal upsets big names in Enceo Tour

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1