Garmin announce additions to 2010 squad

Garmin Bradley Wiggins Tour of Qatar st 1 2009

Garmin-Slipstream announced six riders signed for the Pro Tour squad for 2010, headed by sprinter Robbie Hunter.

The South African joins from the soon to be defunct Barloworld squad as lead-out man for Tyler Farrar and stage winner in his own right.

Also making a move to the argyle-clad outfit is Belgian Johan Vansummeren. The tallest rider in the peloton finished fifth in this year’s Paris-Roubaix riding for Silence-Lotto and will give Garmin options for the Spring Classics.

Decidedly absent from the team’s announcement was any news of the ongoing ‘will he, won’t he’ situation regarding Bradley Wiggins and Sky. Garmin boss Jonathan Vaughters maintains the Londoner will absolutely not be leaving for the new British team, while Sky appear equally determined to land their man.

Garmin will not be unveiling a full team roster until later this year, so the rumour mill looks set to continue for some time yet.

Robbie Hunter

Age: 32

Nationality: South African

Former team: Barloworld

2009 highlights: Giro del Trentino (stage), Giro del Capo (stage), Tour Mediterranean (stage)

Johan Vansummeren

Age: 28

Nationality: Belgian

Former team: Silence-Lotto

2009 highlights: Paris-Roubaix (5th)

Fredrik Kessiakoff

Age: 29

Nationality: Swedish

Former team: Fuji-Servetto

2009 highlights: Tour of Langkawi (4th)

Michel Kreder

Age: 22

Nationality: Dutch

Former team: Rabobank Continental

2009 highlights: Circuit de Lorraine (stage)

Peter Stetina

Age: 22

Nationality: American

Former team: Slipstream U23’s (Felt-Holowesko)

2009 highlights: Tour of Gila (2nd stage one)

Tom Zirbel

Age: 30

Nationality: American

Former team: Bissell

2009 highlights: US national time trial championship (2nd)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1