JJ Haedo sprints to Dauphine stage 2 win

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage two photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Juan Jose Haedo (Saxo Bank) accelerated away from his rivals to take the bunch sprint at the end of the second stage of the 2010 Criterium du Dauphine in France on Tuesday.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

German Martin Reimer (Cervelo) placed second, with stage one winner Grega Bole (Lampre) in third.

Britain’s Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) scored his third consecutive top ten finish of the race, placing ninth. Thomas had been leading the points classification going into the stage, but lost the green jersey to Bole.

Race leader Alberto Contador (Astana) finished safely in the bunch to maintain his position at the top of the overall classification ahead of Tejay van Garderen (HTC-Columbia). Thomas kept his fourth spot and Scotsman David Millar (Garmin-Transitions) moved up to tenth.

Earlier, the day-long break of Stephane Auge (Cofidis), Guillaume Bonnafond (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Anthony Delaplace (Saur-Sojasun), Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel-Euskadi) and Bram Tankink (Rabobank) looked at one point that it would elude the clutches of the bunch, but was caught with just one kilometre remaining to the finish line in Bourg-Sant-Andeol.

The riders now face a long and decisive 49km individual time trial in Wednesday’s stage three from Monteux to Sorgues – prologue winner Contador ranks as one of the hot favourites for the stage win. The eight-day 2010 Criterium du Dauphine finishes on Sunday, June 13.

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage two: Annonay to Bourg-Saint-Andeol, 177km

1. Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank

2. Martin Reimer (Ger) Cervelo
3. Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini
4. Sebastien Chavanel (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
5. Roger Kluge (Ger) Milram
6. Andreas Stauff (Ger) Quick Step
7. Jeremie Galland (Fra) Saur-Sojasun
8. Jean Eudes Demaret (Fra) Cofidis
9. Geraint Thomas (GB) Team Sky
10. Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Transitions all same time

Overall classification after stage two
1. Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana

2. Tejay van Garderen (Usa) HTC-Columbia at 2sec
3. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) RadioShack at 5sec
4. Geraint Thomas (GB) Team Sky at 10sec
5. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quick Step at 12sec
6. Remi Pauriol (Fra) Cofidis at 12sec
7. Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur-Sojasun at 14sec
8. Christophe Riblon (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale
9. Gorka Verdugo (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskaltel at 15sec
10. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions at 15sec

Alberto Contador, Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage 2

Race leader Alberto Contador

David Millar and Geraint Thomas, Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage two

GB’s top ten riders: David Millar (l) chats to Geraint Thomas

Bram Tankink escape, Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage two
Bram Tankink (r) heads the ultimately doomed escape group

JJ Haedo wins, Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage 2

JJ Haedo sweeps to win stage two

Related links

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage two photo gallery

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage one: Bole wins opening road stage

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, stage one photo gallery

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, prologue photo gallery

Criterium du Dauphine 2010, prologue: Contador wins, Thomas fourth

Criterium du Dauphine 2010: The Big Preview