Lizzie Armitstead short-listed for BT Action Woman of the Year award

Road world champion Lizzie Armitstead and mountain biker Rachel Atherton are among 10 nominees for the 2015 BT Action Woman of the Year award

Lizzie Armitstead wins the 2015 Womens World Road Championships
(Image credit: Watson)

Pro cyclists Lizzie Armitstead and Rachel Atherton have both made the shortlist for the 2015 BT Action Woman of the Year Award.

Armistead has enjoyed a stand-out year in women's road cycling, clinching the overall victory in the UCI Women's World Cup and the road race World Championship title.

>>> 100 Best Riders Right Now: #2 Lizzie Armitstead

Downhill mountain biker Atherton has been no less successful, claiming the World Cup series win and world championship in her discipline. Atherton won the inaugural BT award in 2013.

The cycling duo are among 10 on the shortlist, which also includes heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill, boxer Nicola Adams, the England women's hockey team, parasport athlete Georgina Hermitage, England Lionesses football team, tennis player Johanna Konta, adventurer Sarah Outen and the Oxford women's boat race crew.

>>> Armitstead: I’m not the favourite for brutal Rio Olympics road race

Members of the public can vote online for their favourite nominee.

The winner will be revealed during a live programme hosted by Clare Balding on Tuesday December 1, aired on the BT Sport 1 channel.