Edinburgh Nocturne David Millar

Scot David Millar took an impressive solo victory at the Edinburgh Nocturne on Saturday May 30 after working with Garmin-Slipstream team mate Cameron Meyer to blow apart the strong British field.

“I came to Edinburgh with one secret weapon and it was called Cam,” commented Millar. “As soon as the race started my tactics went out of the window and after marking a few attacks Cam went on the front and we took the race on.”

Millar was in fine form fresh from the Giro d'Italia and was clearly determined to take victory on the tough circuit around the Grassmarket in Edinburgh,

“I really wanted to take victory on Scottish soil especially in Edinburgh in front of my friends and family,” he commented. “It was a brutal circuit but a fantastic experience to race in such a spectacular setting, the atmosphere was perfect.”

The race was dominated by the Garmin pros with Meyer and Millar breaking from the bunch mid-way through the race. The duo worked together with Meyer riding hard to set up victory for his team mate and in the end it was only Rapha-Condor’s Kristian House who was able to get back in touch eventually sprinting to second ahead of Meyer,

“The final couple of laps were my fastest and I just put it in the big ring on the climbs. It hurt but I was feeling good. Cam set things up perfectly and it was great to win in Scotland.”

Millar now sets his sights on the Tour de France with the Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré his next race in preparation.

Meanwhile the Nocturne Series moves on to London with the Smithfield Nocturne taking place this weekend (Saturday June 6). Full details on www.nocturneseries.com

Elite circuit race
1. David Millar (Garmin-Slipstream)

2. Kristian House (Rapha-Condor)

3. Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Slipstream)

4. Russell Downing (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta)

5. Graham Briggs (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta)

6. Malcolm Elliott (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta)

7. Tom Southam (Rapha-Condor)

8. Warrick Spence (Cyclefit RT)

9. Evan Oliphant (Plowman Craven-Madison)

10. Andy Tennant (Halfords Bikehut)

Cycling Weekly support race, Cat 2/3

1. Gary McRae (Team Leslie Bike Shop)

2. Paul Rowney (Yeti-GU-Sram)

3. Jason Roberts (Glasgow Nightingale)

Cycling Weekly support race, Cat 4

1. Craig Adams (Falkirk BC)

2. Andrew Turnbull (Falkirk BC)

3. Peter Sammon (Sandy Wallace Cycles)

2009 Nocturne Series

May 30, Edinburgh

June 6, Smithfiled

August 1, Blackpool

Edinburgh Nocturne, David Millar wins

Crowds packed the city-centre circuit in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Nocturne, David Millar wins

David Millar celebrates his win in Edinburgh


David Millar: Rider Profile

The year of the criterium: Circuit race preview

Millar to ride Edinburgh Nocturne

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1